baking · Workshops

My Cuppy Puppy Experience: A Re-Post

Hi there! How are you? I hope you’re doing spectacularly well. As for me, I’ve been baking. I know, I know, I should take pictures and blog about what has been keeping me up most nights (it’s not Baby Z!) but I keep forgetting to take pictures of what I’ve baked! Let me correct that, I end up taking pictures using my mobile phone in very bad lighting conditions, making it embarrassing to post. Anyway, next time I will have to come up with a better schedule and take into consideration a proper photoshoot.

WELL. This post is all about a basic cake deco class I joined some weeks back. The talented artist behind Cuppy Puppy Bakehouse is Chef Joanna Penaloza Romero, and I was encouraged by a friend to take her class because she is the only one who teaches the method of covering a cake with ganache and producing sharp edges in one’s cakes.

The class took place in the Cuppy Puppy Studio which was in the south, since I don’t usually frequent that area I got lost and was almost late for the workshop! Chef Joanna is a beautiful, young woman who shared with us how she started in the business. She was very patient and encouraging throughout the whole class.

ganache cake cuppypuppy class pictureChef Joanna at far right, my classmates and I and the results of the workshop 🙂
Guess what? I wasn’t able to take enough photos! For a new baker like me, everything was twice as hard and I was working extra slow. Ganaching a cake is serious business. Instead, let me share with you what my finished decorated cake looked like and know that this cake was so hard to make!
ganache fondant cake cuppypuppyThis was my cake. Not bad, right?

 

ganache fondant cake
Here’s an Instagram photo of what the cake looked like after transport (the butterflies wings collapsed) and after a slice (I couldn’t help it!). The cake was delicious! It was baked already by Chef Joanna, we just decorated it for the workshop.
Will be posting more of my baking escapades soon! Be safe 🙂

One thought on “My Cuppy Puppy Experience: A Re-Post

Leave a comment